Research units in IC3 are designed as fundamental academic research clusters devoted to investigation in several scientific areas within their corresponding research groups, linked by the unit’s main focus. Laboratories, on the other hand, are multidisciplinary departments aimed at promoting, enhancing and managing any of the Institution’s non-purely academic external relations, such as those with stakeholders, as depicted in the figure below.

IC3 was expected to consist of six research units and four laboratories working as a link to external stakeholders, all supported by a cutting-edge management system. However, only one unit and one lab are in place:

  • The Climate Dynamics and Impacts Unit (UDIC)
  • The Climate Forecasting Unit (CFU) up until mid-2016
  • Oceans and Atmosphere Lab (LAO)